Music Monday: Fringe Edition

Learn more about Music Monday features, including how to participate, by clicking here!

As you may have seen if you follow my Twitter or Instagram, or if you’re a fellow Winnipegger, Winnipeg just had our annual Fringe Festival! For those who don’t know what this is, here’s a little write-up from their website:

Every year the Winnipeg Fringe Festival welcomes over 170 companies from all over the world to present exciting independent theatre to appreciative audiences.

Winnipeg Fringe is based on three key principles:

  1. The festival is non-juried.
  2. Artists have complete artistic freedom to present what they want on stage.
  3. 100% of box office revenue goes directly back to the performing companies.

Because we accept performing companies into the festival via a lottery process, artists are free to be experimental and have complete artistic control over their production.

This was my third year volunteering for the show and it’s always so much fun! As well as getting to see some great plays, there are also performances on the outdoor stage, named the Cube for reasons which should be fairly obvious from its appearance.

cube

Since Fringe is now over and I’m currently going through withdrawal, I thought I’d focus this Music Monday on some local talent that graced the Fringe stage. There were almost 50 different performers over the festival so I’ll just highlight a couple of my favourites below. (Admittedly, there’s no book connection here but give me a break, I miss Fringe!)


The Middle Coast
Genre: 70’s Inspired Yacht Rock

This is my fave local band so of course I had to include them in this list! I saw them perform 2 years ago when I first started volunteering at the Fringe (and really my first time attending too) and I’ve been a fan ever since. Unfortunately, I didn’t make it to their performance this year but the drummer also played with a different singer (below) so I kind of got to see the band (it counts!).

Links: Website | Facebook | Spotify | Twitter



Tyler Del Pino

Genre: Country/Pop/Rock

This was a new-to-me singer but I’m looking forward to seeing what he does next. The Fringe is always a great place to find new faves!

Links: Website | Facebook | Spotify | Twitter



The Noble Thiefs

Genre: Soul-Rock

They’ve got a really cool vibe going on. It’s a lot of fun to watch them perform because they look like they’re having a blast!

Links: Website | Facebook | Spotify | Twitter



The Janzen Boys

Genre: Folk

This is a family group made up of father and sons. Check out their kid-friendly version of Cecelia below, super cute!

Links: Website | Facebook | YouTube | Twitter



Who are some of your fave local bands? Let me know below!

Leave a Reply

