Music Monday: Musical Haikus

Today’s Music Monday post (find all about this feature HERE!) is inspired in part by @bibliobutterfly on Instagram!

Way back in April, I participated in her month-long Bookstagram challenge and one day the prompt was haiku. Rather than write my own, I decided to borrow some verses from songs I was listening to and did a little mix-and-match. Here’s my original haiku in case you wanted to check it out 🙂

I thought making up a haiku, that preferably made some sense, would be pretty difficult I actually found that it was hard to narrow down all the verses I could use to only three! It seems like 5 or 7 syllables is really common in songs, or at least the ones I’m listening to. I really haven’t studied music in-depth so I don’t know if this is on purpose based on the rhythm of most popular songs but it’s something interesting I picked up on nonetheless! And since it seems so common, I thought I’d share some more musical haikus with you below!

Feel free to create your own haiku or participate in Music Mondays however you’d like and leave me a link in the comments so I can check out your creations!

~~~~~

Whispers in the grass

It’s all logic and pretend

Tonight is the same

~~~~~

Might be over now

It’s too late to change your mind

Let go for tonight 

~~~~~

Let love in your life

I feel more than my own share

Will you try it once?

~~~~~

You look like trouble

I’m not sure if I still care

I can never tell

~~~~~

They don’t all make perfect sense but I’m actually pretty happy with how these turned out! I’ve listed the songs I used below and you can also find them all in the Music Monday playlist I created a few months back, available on YouTube and Spotify 🙂

How did you guys make out? Let me know!


 

Songs: Bittersweet Melodies – Feist // Distractions – Groenland // Beautiful Trash – Lanu (in haiku 1 and 4) // Feel it Still – Portugal. The Man // The High Road – Broken Bells // Let Go for Tonight – Foxes (in haiku 2 and 3) // Healing Suns – Groenland (in haiku 3 and 4) // Machine Gun – Sara Bareilles // The Bells – Lowell

Leave a Reply

