Author Interview: Robin Cote

This month’s featured author is quite inspiring with her honesty and desire to empower others. Robin Cote’s autobiography details her personal experience with abuse but also how she’s learned to move beyond the label of ‘victim’. Learn more about her and this powerful read below!

life imageMy Life, Victim No More! The Ugly Truth Exposed by Robin Cote
Genre: Non-Fiction / Self-Help

Some people are tested more than others. Some are lucky enough to learn the toughest lessons and manage to survive. Others aren’t so lucky. Domestic violence, verbal and emotional abuse, rape, bullying and death. This is one woman’s journey and how she makes it through to become a survivor.

Buy it from Amazon!

And now, learn all about the author…

Sam/Spines: Let’s start off with a little game to learn more about you: what are two truths and a lie about yourself?

Robin Cote: Truth 1. I am a survivor of domestic abuse
Truth 2. I’m very comfortable in my own skin
Lie- The process of writing a book comes very easy to me (I wish)

S: How did you get started in writing?

RC: I guess you can say my beginning into writing was journaling. I began to journal in my late teen years and it progressed into many different things. I write about real life stuff so I found it was my way of dealing with life’s growing pains and experiences.

S: Have you always wanted to be a writer?

RC: Writing kinda chose me. I fell in love with it as a way to get things out of my system and I found it very easy to put words down on paper. Very cathartic.

S: What other jobs have you had?

RC: I worked in radio for 26 years as a DJ, Reporter and Producer, worked in television for PBS and several TV shows, Senior Writer and Asst. Editor for a music publication, Sports Writer for an NHL team, Extra, Actor and Stunt person in films and commercials since I was a kid (still dabble in it), massage therapist, worked in a steel foundry, built and ran a very successful Landscape Design and Installation company, and other multiple odd jobs through the years as a single mother.

S: Can you tell us a little about your book?

RC: My book is called, My Life Victim No More. The Ugly Truth Exposed. It’s a portion of my life story, probably some of the most grueling and heart-wrenching stuff anyone can ever experience. I take the reader on a journey into things like domestic violence, verbal and emotional abuse, rape, bullying, and death. It’s not meant to be one of those things that show I’m a victim. It’s meant to inspire the reader by showing that we are pretty resilient as human beings and we can rise above to not only survive life’s challenges but we can overcome and be successful at life.

S: Did you find it a difficult process to write about such painful experiences in your life?

RC: Sometimes I did, other times, the words just flowed out of me. Initially it started as a blog, a way to tell my daughter the truth. So many people were reading the entries and they kept prompting me to continue. They were captivated by the story and I found myself working through the past in ways I never imagined. A very healing experience. By the time I had re-read the book so many times during the editing process, I felt healed.

S: Why did you feel it was so important to share your personal story?

RC: Honestly, the readers of the blog suggested I turn it into a book because so many of them related to it. The issues I faced in my life are similar to issues that so many others face but they don’t know how to deal with them in order to move on and have a better life. I had received many private messages and emails from people reading the blog. They expressed how much they appreciated that I was able to tell my story and it helped them in the process of being able to tell their stories and heal as well. They found solace in knowing that they weren’t alone. I think it’s very important for others to not be afraid of telling their story and if I can help inspire just one person to do so, then I feel it’s worth speaking up and speaking out.

S: What have you found most rewarding in your writing career?

RC: That people are willing to read what I write and share their stories with me. I’m very honored and touched when someone says to me not to quit what I’m doing because it helped them. Sometimes I wonder if what I’m doing is what I should be doing. Then I get a good swift kick in the pants when others reach out to me and say “Keep going.” It really humbles you.

S: What are you working on next?

RC: I have several books in various stages of completion. Hoping to have them completed sometime this summer and later in the year. I volunteer with a Veterans organization and speak about the effects of trauma and PTSD.

S: And finally, where can we find you?

RC: www.robincote.com | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | LinkedIn

About the Author: Robin Cotè is an Robin Cotèaward-winning, inspirational writer, whose articles, short stories and essays have appeared in numerous publications, anthologies and websites.

She is passionate about making a difference in the lives of others. Through her own experiences, she shares how she has overcome immense tragedy and still leads a fulfilled life.

She is a living kidney donor, a loving mom and esteemed member of the Arizona independent film community. Robin’s smile is contagious, and ability to inject hard truth, her calling card!

She currently splits her time between writing, motivational speaking and life coaching.

You can reach her at robin@robincote.com. Visit her website at www.robincote.com

Author links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | LinkedIn

One thought on “Author Interview: Robin Cote

  1. Pingback: New interview published today. Thank you so much to Spines in a Line for your support! #getrealwithrobin #robincote #author #authorrobincote #robincoteauthor @AuthorRobinCote – Get Real With Robin- She Speaks

Leave a Reply

