Review: Weltanschauung by Vikki Patis

Weltan image             smaller starsmaller starsmaller starsmaller star

A very interesting short story collection but also quite dark! I’m sure a few of these stories will give you goosebumps!

Weltanschauung by Vikki Patis
Genre: Short Story

The harbinger, the oddball, the remaining twin… Weltanschauung seeks to open your eyes to different stories, set in different worlds and at different times, but with the same theme in mind: to make you question your worldview.

This collection of short stories traverses genres, introduces a variety of characters, and shines a light on some of our deepest fears.

Challenge your perceptions.

Buy it from Amazon: Paperback | Kindle

I was initially surprised by the length of some of these stories, as the first one and a couple others actually have chapters. This isn’t necessarily bad; it’s just not what I’ve come to expect from short stories. I don’t know if they technically qualify as short stories but I actually preferred this format. It allowed the characters and story more time to develop, a little more breathing room before being thrust into the action.

As I’ve mentioned before and will probably continue to mention, with a collection you’re very rarely going to be happy with all of the stories and this was the case for me. However, I did enjoy the majority of them so it’s still a good read! The ones that I didn’t enjoy as much were ones that felt more incomplete or one in particular that was much too dark for my tastes. With the incomplete one, it seemed to set up a great story but it itself was more of a prologue. I would’ve liked to have seen what that world looked like but we never really got into it. There was also one that felt like it romanticized suicide so I couldn’t get on board with that.

One of the really powerful aspects of this collection is that each story seems to have a deeper story at work. Many of them play with fantastical themes but the author has cleverly hidden meanings within them (and I’ll be honest, some of them I haven’t uncovered). This feels like a collection that challenges you to think and reflect, and once you do figure out what the story is really trying to tell you, you’ll have to go back and reread it through this new lens. The metaphors the author’s created are quite powerful once you understand them.

I also have to include my favourite quote from this book, as I prepare to become a librarian:

“I have to return The Bell Jar today, else the librarian will morph into her
natural form and engulf me in fire.”
(p. 30) 😀

There are only five stories in this collection but, especially with their lengths, it fills the space and doesn’t feel that there’s anything missing. Even as they deal with different topics, both in their surface and deeper tellings, somehow they still work together and make for a great read, albeit one to make you think. But perhaps those are the best kinds 😉

Vikki image

About the Author: Vikki Patis is a writer and blogger at The Bandwagon, where she reviews books, interviews authors, and gives her opinions on a wide variety of topics, from feminism to fibromyalgia. You can also follow her via Twitter and Facebook

Author links:Twitter | Facebook

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own

2 thoughts on “Review: Weltanschauung by Vikki Patis

Leave a Reply

