Book Tour: Middle South by Maya Nessouli Abboushi

I’m very excited to be a part of iRead’s book tour 1-iRead Button smallfor Middle South by Maya Nessouli Abboushi. You can find the entire tour schedule here!

If you’re in the mood for a light, funny book (but of course one with room for self-exploration) I think this would be the perfect fit for you!

You can find out more about the book below, plus the author has written a guest post about the lessons she’s learned from writing. Read on for her tips and don’t forget to enter to win a copy of this book!

Middle South imageMiddle South by Maya Nessouli Abboushi
Genre: Women’s Fiction

Layla has recently moved out of her parents’ home in the Atlanta suburbs and into an apartment in the city to assert her independence. Between her job as a feature writer for a small newspaper and her social life, Layla has little time to think about marriage and children, much to the dismay of her Lebanese parents.

On a hilarious journey that takes Layla from the Southeast to the Middle East and back, she finds out a little more about herself and what she is looking for in life and in love.

Get it here:  Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble | BookLogix


What I Learned from Writing My First Novel

            I pride myself on being a planner and a master of time management. Everything I do in my life from travel, to kid’s activities, to grocery store trips, has a list, a plan, and a schedule. Except for writing. I didn’t realize that until very recently. I never had a plan or outline when I sat down to write Middle South. One day, after a brief conversation with my mom at my parents’ house, I just opened my laptop and started writing.

It took me years to finish Middle South because I always saw it as just a hobby I could enjoy when I had time. Whenever the mood struck, I would just pick up where I left off in the story, not really knowing in which direction it was going to go.

Another thing I learned about myself is that my children drive me. When I see that they are proud of me, it inspires me. I want my son and daughters to know that you can do anything if you work hard enough. For a long time, Middle South, lived in my computer completely finished, but I was too scared to put myself out there. The idea that people would judge the merit of my work was terrifying. Once my youngest was off to school, I realized it was time to be proactive. How could I finish a second writing project without ever showing anyone the first? I wanted to set an example for my children that in life, it’s more important to just do the thing that scares you and think about it later.

 


And now the part you all are probably most excited about – the giveaway! Follow the link below to enter to win an ebook copy of Middle South! Open international and ends May 13th:  a Rafflecopter giveaway

Maya Abboushi imageAbout the Author: Maya Nessouli Abboushi is a Lebanese American born and raised in the United States. She lives in Atlanta with her husband and three children. This is her first novel.

Author links: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Leave a Reply

