Book Tour and Giveaway: India by Debra Schoenberger

India image      smaller starsmaller starsmaller star

I’m excited to be taking part in the iRead Book Tour for Debra Schoenberger’s latest photography book! Read on for my review and a great giveaway!

You can find the full tour schedule here and more info about iRead Book Tours in the sidebar

India by Debra Schoenberger
Genre: Photography

I have always been fascinated by the sheer beauty and diversity in Indian culture. “Sensory overload in a glance” is an apt description of a country that is always in movement. To be able to stand still in the middle of all that movement allows me to really “see” her people and absorb the flow of life from birth to death.

From learning how to make yellow ink from cow urine to watching funeral pyres burn in Varanasi, I realized that I would have to spend a lifetime here to grasp the immense value of her art, stunning architecture, fascinating food and love of all that is beautiful.

Get it here: Amazon | Blurb | iTunes | Website

This is my first time reviewing a photography book, though I have “read” several before. It’s a much different experience than a full-fledged novel, without real characters or a story to follow. Instead, it’s kind of like the reader gets to provide the story, making up a background for each person in these photos.

One of my favourites is of a group of girls running up stairs in full dresses, with huge smiles on their faces. Another shows a man sitting at his typewriter, which happened to be in the middle of the sidewalk. There are also a lot of photos of dogs (always a good thing:)) and other animals that are a part of daily life in India, roaming the streets. The author offers many scenic shots but she also gives a glimpse of the human experience, which really takes this collection to the next level.

I’m not tech savvy so I had some difficulty with the ebook format. In my reading, the photos were all in grayscale which was a bit of a letdown because I know they would be much more powerful in full colour, especially to illustrate the vibrancy of India that the author describes. The book actually is in full colour so that’s definitely down to me not understanding how to use my e-reader 😛

I know that photography books put a large focus on the photos, as “pictures are worth a thousand words” but I’ve found that I do rely on words to at least provide direction. While there was a short intro at the beginning of the book, I think it could’ve benefited from being longer, more like a preface, in order to get readers into a mindset to connect more with the following photos. Sometimes, we just need that context to really understand what the photos are showing us. I still like to hear from the author, even if, as in this case, I get to see through their eyes

Still, there are really beautiful shots in this one (even if I couldn’t see the colours) and the author did a great job of providing us with the whole picture of life in India. Well, as much as we can get without going there ourselves 🙂 You can get more of a sense of what to expect in this collection from the book trailer below, and of course don’t forget to enter the giveaway!

Giveaway: Win one $25 Amazon gift card (international) – 5 other winners will receive one copy of INDIA, choice ePUB or PDF (ends April 1, 2017): Enter here!

Debra imageAbout the Author: Debra Schoenberger aka #girlwithcamera

My dad always carried a camera under the seat of his car and was constantly taking pictures. I think that his example, together with pouring over National Geographic magazines as a child fuelled my curiosity for the world around me.

I am a documentary photographer and street photography is my passion. Some of my images have been chosen by National Geographic as editor’s favourites and are on display in the National Geographic museum in Washington, DC.  I also have an off-kilter sense of humour so I’m always looking for the unusual.

Author links: Website | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest

iread-website-new-logo

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

4 thoughts on “Book Tour and Giveaway: India by Debra Schoenberger

Leave a Reply

