Challenges 2017

So with the 24 in 48 readathon coming up tomorrow I thought now was a good time to announce all the challenges I’ll be participating in this year!

If I get ambitious I may add to this list later on but we’ll see! 🙂

24 in 48: This one is hosted by Rachel over @ 24 in 48 Readathon and the challenge is to read for 24 hours over a 48-hour period. Sounds a little intense but that’s all part of the fun! There are a lot of great prizes up for grabs so head over to her site and check it out!

This will be taking place over the weekend, January 21-22nd. You can follow my progress on Twitter @spinesinaline and Instagram @spinesinaline, and also visit those sites to see my TBR. That’s a lot of hours to cover so I’ve put together quite a list though I very likely won’t make it through all of them. Better safe than sorry, right?

Read Diverse 2017: This challenge continues throughout the year, as do the ones below. Hosted by Nas @ Read Diverse Books, the aim is to read and review diverse books, with different badges available for different point levels. There’s also the added challenge of becoming the Diverse Book Blogger of the Year, and of course prizes available throughout the year!

Now I don’t think I’ll reach the highest honours but I thought this would be a good way to challenge my reading. I noticed throughout the first year (almost) of my blog that I read a lot of books by white, male authors. I was inspired recently by another blogger too, Katie @ Read the World Project who is, as the title of her blog suggests, challenging herself to read books from around the world.

Most of the books I’ve read are from North America or the UK. While I’ve been trying to read more from Canadian authors, it’s still about whose voices are included so my “Canadian focus” has shifted to women writers and Indigenous authors.

I’m looking forward to being part of the conversations in this community around diversity because it’s definitely important that marginalized voices are represented in ways that are both accurate and respectful.

Women Challenge: Related to the above challenge, this one encourages reading books written by women and is hosted by Peek a Book. This is something I’ve been actively moving towards so it felt natural to join the challenge!

There are different levels for this one as well, and I’ll be aiming for Super Girl (16-20 books). In 2016 I read 40+ books so that would be almost half written by women. I definitely want to strive for more but I’ll see where the year takes me.

Rock My TBR: Last but not least, I’m joining the Rock My TBR rock-my-tbrchallenge hosted by Sarah @ The YA Book Traveler. I have a LOT of books on my shelves that I haven’t read (some that I’ve had for 5+ years). This challenge is to read at least one currently published book a month (not ARCs), and you can also participate in buddy reads if that helps motivate you.

I’m not sure how well I’ll do with this challenge because I’ve got quite a lot of ARCs I need to work my way through but it wouldn’t be a challenge if it was easy, right?


 

So those are all my challenges for 2017! Now it’s time to get ready for tomorrow and the long hours of reading ahead. Don’t forget to follow my progress @spinesinaline!

Leave a Reply

