Here Comes the Witch by Ani Gonzalez

here comes image          smaller starsmaller starsmaller starsmaller star

Time for another book tour! This tour is organized by Lola’s Book Tours and runs from September 7th to the 20th. Check out the full schedule here for all kinds of reviews, interviews, and guest posts. Also, check out the giveaway below!

This book is billed as a Paranormal Cozy Mystery, and I definitely got the “cozy” feeling. It’s a cute book that ended up being a very mild ghost story. Definitely a romance but more restrained in those themes than most, a good thing for those you who don’t like romances (me!). I’m not sure the genre really suits it but it’s a cute story about a cute town with a bit of a ghost problem.

Jewelry designer Kat Ramos has come to Banshee Creek to break the famous Hagen House curse and, in order to do that, she must marry Liam Hagen. A vengeful ghost with a deadly history isn’t part of the deal, and neither is love. Will Kat be able to handle both? Or will the mystery of the cursed Hagen House remain unsolved?  Goodreads

I was wavering back and forth on what to rate this book so I want to give an explanation.

Usually I reserve 4 stars for really good books (5 is absolutely love), while 3 is okay/not bad but not quite what I’m looking for. In terms of writing, this one was more of a 3-star book. It started off feeling like a very juvenile read and while it did get better, it’s not particularly strong writing. I was also disappointed we didn’t get much of the history of the magic of a certain family (no spoilers, I promise!).

The climax of the book almost left much to be desired, part of the reason I don’t agree with the genre. It was very quick after much of the book had led up to it and not very detailed. However, the epilogue was a good touch and a big reason that this book got 4 stars from me. It helped to tie up the loose ends that had been so quickly skipped over.

With all of that, the main reason I’m giving this 4 stars is because I did enjoy the story. It was entertaining and I really loved meeting all the different, quirky characters that make up this town. I would like to see more of their individual histories, especially the mysterious Yolanda, so I hope there’s more to learn in the rest of the series. It may not be strong writing, but it’s a fun, quick read with a great cast!

Get the book here (and here for UK folks)!

Ani GonzalezAbout the Author: Ani Gonzalez

I write paranormal romantic comedy and cozy mystery (whew, that’s a mouthful!) set in Banshee Creek, Virginia, The Most Haunted Town in the USA. My books feature feisty funny heroines dealing with a host of paranormal critters (ghosts, cryptids, pagan gods…the sky’s the limit) and mysteries. They find magic, love and laughter and readers get to follow them every step of the way.

I love quirky towns with spooky stories, and, thanks to my books, I get to “live” in one year-around. In real life I live in a Minneapolis suburb (which is sadly lacking in ghosts) with my husband and three children and I’m still trying to adjust to the cold.

Author links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Amazon | Newsletter

And now the moment you’ve all been waiting for: the giveaway!

There is a tour wide giveaway for this blog tour. These are the prizes you can win:

  • Custom Jewelry (US only)
  • a $25 Amazon gift card (International)

For a chance to win, enter here: a Rafflecopter giveaway

banner Lola's Blog Tours

 I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

 

Leave a Reply

