Strange Things Done by Elle Wild

strange image          smaller starsmaller starsmaller starsmaller star

Will Jo solve the crime in time or will she be trapped in the city with the killer?

As winter closes in and the roads snow over in Dawson City, Yukon, newly arrived journalist Jo Silver investigates the dubious suicide of a local politician and quickly discovers that not everything in the sleepy tourist town is what it seems. Before long, law enforcement begins treating the death as a possible murder and Jo is the prime suspect.   Goodreads

What intrigued me most about this book was the setting. I’m actively seeking out Canadian authors and the North isn’t something I’ve read much about, whether fiction or non-fiction, so it was really interesting to learn about part of my country that’s remained a bit of a mystery to me. And somehow, even with the tales of murder and terrible cold that these characters face, I’m even more interested in traveling there now! Hopefully the same fate doesn’t await me as did Jo…

This book definitely plays on the mystery / thriller divide. I would probably call it more a mystery but the mood of the story suits that of a thriller, especially as it matches the cold, dark winter of the setting. The best part is that the author managed to avoid the common template for a mystery that most new writers use and instead set out to tell a story rather than follow a pre-determined path. I think part of it was that she used the town as part of the intrigue so it was as much of discovering this town as uncovering a killer.

While I did like the main character Jo, there were a lot of times that I didn’t agree with her actions. Not to spoil anything, but she does a lot of stupid stuff and I felt like much of it just didn’t fit with her character. Maybe some of it was just to provide more conflict and suspense, but that could have been done in other ways rather than sacrificing the main character’s values and strengths. There were also some plot points that fell short. I didn’t totally agree with who the killer was in the end, though of course it was a big reveal, and the conclusion felt a bit haphazard afterwards. Still, the story overall was very strong and I’m looking forward to what this author comes up with next. Hopefully there will be more to come in this series!

The book comes out September 24th and if you’re in Vancouver, I definitely recommend going to the launch party. It looks like it’ll be a lot of fun! Pre-order the book here!

Author links: Website | Twitter | Facebook
Character links: Website | Twitter (very cool, the author went all-out to set up an online presence for her main character)

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

Leave a Reply

