Bout of Books Wrap-Up and Music Monday

Read on for this month’s Music Monday!

And that’s a wrap to Bout of Books 17! I didn’t really know what to expect for my first read-a-thon but it was a lot of fun being caught up in the book blogging community!Bout of Books

The goals I set out to meet this past week were to:

  • Finish at least 3 books
  • Return library books

And I completed them both! I thought it was a bit of a stretch to read 3 books but I do have a number of deadlines coming up so I’m glad I was able to get through them. I ended up reading about 330 pages in all.

Here are the books I finished:

This Cake is For the Party || Here Comes the Witch || The Crepes of Wrath

Here Comes the Witch is the one I used for the tabloid challenge!

And the ones I started:

Not So Much, Said the Cat || The Blackbird Singularity

I started the short story collection Not So Much first but it was difficult to get into. I’m not a big fan of sci-fi and it has very heavy content so I’ll have to go back to that one when I feel more up to it. The Blackbird Singularity on the other hand was a lot more engaging to get into and I’m really looking forward to reading it.

And now for Music Monday! I decided to join in Clockwork Bibliophile’s Book Shuffle meme for this month. The rules are simple: click shuffle in your music library, pair the first song that comes up with a book, and explain why!

mrs d imageI got Take A Bow by Rihanna and I’m pairing it with The New Mrs. D by Heather Hill (a really good book, great if you’re looking for a laugh-out-loud comedy!). Now, the book is funny so the mood may not seem to fit the song but it doesn’t start out nice. Bernice is a brand-new wife but when her husband of four days starts to look like a big mistake, she sets out on the rest of their honeymoon alone. So I felt like what Rihanna is saying about how the person she’s talking to has let her down and lied to her really applies to the main characters in Heather Hill’s story.

Stay tuned for the above books to be reviewed in the near future! And check out more of my Music Monday posts here!

Now that Bout of Books is officially over, what were your final numbers?

Leave a Reply

