Bout of Books 17: Day Five

We’re nearing the end of Bout of Books! I feel like I should be able to complete my goals by the end of the week, as long as I don’t take any long breaks from reading. My second goal may be a little harder because this is what one of my library books looks like right now:

IMG_2612

You can tell you studied English in uni when…

Hopefully I’ll be able to sort through all of that in time!

Here’s a reminder on all things “Bout of Books”: Bout of Books is a readathon organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal, taking place from August 22nd to August 28th. You can participate on any social media platform, by letting people know what you’re reading or by checking in with others. Check out the blog or #boutofbooks on Twitter to join the conversation!

My goals for this week are as follows:

  • Finish at least 3 ONE books
  • Return library books

Yesterday I got through about 90 pages of my current read and there’s only about 60 left so maybe I’ll even get through a fourth book!

Challenge: Janey Canuck is hosting today’s challenge, which is to make some kind of connection between a book and a song, like our Music Mondays! Some of the suggestions she gave for this challenge were:

  • Rename your book with a song
  • Give a lyric that sums up the plot of your book
  • A song or album that is forever associated with a particular books in your mind

cake party image
It was a little difficult to come up with something quickly but I think I’ve made a good match. A book I finished earlier this week, This Cake is For the Party, has a lot of characters in unhappy lives and I felt the tone of this book matched that of Mad World by Gary Jules (not the original but it’s the one I know best). There’s a kind of hopelessness in both the book and the song so they seem to fit well together.

What book/song connections did you come up with?

How are you doing on your Bout of Books goals?

Bout of Books
Leave a Reply

