Bout of Books: First Day

Bout of Books

It’s the first day of Bout of Books! This is my first time participating in this read-a-thon so I’m kind of learning as I go along.

I’ve seen several people set goals for themselves for how much reading they’d like to do this week and I’d like to get some reading in before school starts up so here are my goals:

  • Finish at least 3 books
  • Return library books (not really a reading goal but it’s somewhat related)

That’s it! I’d really like to finish a couple books before I’m coming up on some deadlines and I won’t have much time to read once I go back to school. Ideally, I’d like to finish 5 books that I’ve got piling up but I don’t think I’ll actually be able to achieve that so 3 it is. And then if I can get my library books finished, I can return them and avoid overdue fees!

So those are my goals for this week. Now for the first challenge, hosted by Writing My Own Fairytale: Book-to-Movie Adaptation – share your fave and least fave adaptations

I’m going to start with least-favourite because that one comes to mind more easily:

lovely bones imageLeast Favourite: Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

I hint at this in my Goodreads review but I’m still upset. The movie is so, so poorly done. I was really looking forward to it after seeing the trailers, and then I got a chance to read the book so I read it as quickly as I could before I saw the movie. The book itself: probably one of my favourites ever. The movie, though, ended up a total letdown. I blame it on the director because the plot felt too muddled. I would’ve liked to see it better done cuz the cast was fantastic.

 

narnia image

Favourite: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

My mom introduced me to this series and I read the whole thing. Some of the later books I was totally confused (it’s definitely not written as easily as Harry Potter) but this first was was really fun to read. And the movie was really fun too! I loved seeing the world come to life, and it’s a really enjoyable movie all-around! The later movies haven’t met my standards quite as well but I’m happy with the first movie so they can do whatever they want with the rest of the series.

What are your favourite and least favourite adaptations?

Join the conversation on Twitter @boutofbooks

2 thoughts on “Bout of Books: First Day

  1. I was a big fan of The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe growing up and really enjoyed the movie adaptations as well. I hadn’t thought of that one while making my list! I picked Bridget Jones’ Diary (the first movie) as my favorite and Baz Luhrmann’s The Great Gatsby as my least favorite.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

