Stacking the Shelves: Library Trip

I’m excited to be participating in my first meme on this blog!stacking the shelves

Stacking The Shelves
is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews and is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves. You can include books you buy in a physical store or online, borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts, and of course ebooks!

She posts every Saturday but bloggers can post any day of the week and then submit a link to their post, or you can just comment here what books you’ve picked up this week!

I decided to join this week because I just made a long overdue visit to my local library yesterday. About a year and half ago, the library was moved and underwent a complete overhaul in design and layout. And I hadn’t been since its old location so it was about time I stopped in to see the new look!

It looks so great! I took a couple pictures while I was browsing so I could share with you. It really does feel nicer than the old library, as it’s a lot more open thanks to the increase in size as well as all the natural light coming in. There’s a bigger playspace for kids now, and, something they didn’t have before, plenty of area for reading or working! Though the old one had a few computers to work on, there was really nowhere to just sit and read and relax. I can see huge improvements with the new building and I can’t wait to go back!

So here’s what I picked up this week:

dead midnight image

Purchased: Dead by Midnight by Carolyn Hart

Blurb: Refusing to believe that a local death was a suicide, mystery bookstore owner Annie Darling investigates a series of clues including a hidden towel, a lack of fingerprints on a crystal mug, and a lovers’ tryst.

Why I Chose It: The library has a whole shelf labelled ‘book sale’ so how could I pass that up! I’m always drawn to murder mysteries at the library, and this one has a bookstore owner as the main character so it immediately caught my interest. Plus it was only $0.70!!

killer keep image

Borrowed: Killer Keepsakes by Jane K Cleland

Blurb:One of the mainstays of Prescott’s Antiques and Appraisals has always been the cheerful and helpful assistant, Gretchen, who turned up unexpectedly just as Josie was setting up shop in New Hampshire. Gretchen has always been so dependable that it seems odd when she doesn’t show up for work one day. Surprise soon turns to alarm when a dead body is found in Gretchen’s house, with Gretchen the prime suspect.
How much does Josie know about Gretchen, anyway? Enough to believe she isn’t capable of murder, so Josie, with a crack team of antiques appraisers at her side, sets out to find the real killer and bring Gretchen home safely, no matter the cost.

Why I Chose It: Following with the murder mystery theme! This is one of my favourite mystery series though it’s been a while since I’ve read the first books in the series. I actually found the first one back at the old library, in the far corner where all the mysteries were hiding. This time they’re more front and center, and have more shelves to accommodate them. I may have to reread the older books just so I can get back in the swing of the series but I still took this book out in case I happen to be a really fast reader.

cake party image

Borrowed: This Cake is for the Party: Stories by Sarah Selecky

Blurb: I don’t like reading synopses of short story collections so I’m just going to include the very short blurb from the jacket: These ten smart, tautly written stories mark the debut of an exciting new voice in Canadian short fiction.

Why I Chose It: I almost purely picked up this book because of the title! It just seems so clever and I’m really looking forward to whichever of the stories the title refers to. I’m not sure that I’ll totally enjoy the book because the first few pages I started reading were just okay, but I’ll see how choosing a book based on the title works out. It does have a lot of praise from other authors, plus she’s Canadian, so maybe there is something to be said about this book.

Those are all the ones I picked up this week! I may not actually get around to reading them before they’re due because school’s starting up soon and I’ve got a lot of others on my list, but it was still nice to go and see the new library.

What books did you add to your shelves this week? Let me know in the comments!

Image of front of library from LM Architectural Group.
Check out this page for more (higher-quality) images of the new space!

2 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves: Library Trip

Leave a Reply

