When Lucifer Met Calamity by D. Alyce Domain

Lucifer         smaller starsmaller starsmaller starsmaller star

I’m going to include the author’s synopsis here because it gives you a really good feel for what to expect from this book, both in plot and writing style:

Take a chance on Love, Laughter…and Lucifer.

Lucifer: “Tell me, how does such a little woman manage to keep up so much trouble in such a short space of time?”

All Hell Breaks ‘Luce’ – When fate brings them together in a joint take-down of a common enemy, they get a chance at romance. But oh what a tangled tale that is conceived, when the lady plots to mislead. Calamity’s got her own set of rules…and while she’s willing to give the sexy lawyer a shot, a girl’s got to have a back-up plan in case things go sideways. Right?

I enjoyed this book more than I expected to, given that I usually avoid romance. While it is very romance-heavy, it’s not the main concern of the novel as Lucifer and Calamity are involved in a legal battle with a certain handsy boss. And just a heads up, her name is Calamity for a very, VERY, good reason. While Lucifer, as a lawyer, decides on a legal plan of action, Calamity prefers to follow her own rules to ensure she’ll come out on top.

The author describes this book as a comic African-American romance, and for any African-American readers out there, this book is written by a Black woman unlike The Soul Thief so I think you’ll find it a much more accurate portrayal of the characters. As for the comedy, there were certainly moments throughout the book where I was laughing to myself. Seriously, Calamity is non-stop chaos.

The romance side of it was iffy for me, but again I’m not a big romance fan. If you are into this genre, I think you’ll really enjoy it. My main problem with it was the Lucifer was described as this ideal specimen with “washboard abs”, which would have been fine if this description had just been in Calamity’s mind. However, it followed him everywhere. The book is in third-person but switches between Calamity and Lucifer’s perspectives, and even when we were with Lucifer, it was still all about his “washboard abs”. Like, it’d be “Lucifer took a shower and then pulled a shirt on over his washboard abs”. What is that? It’s a good thing that the perspective did switch because Lucifer was more developed as we followed him through the story, but the constant reminder of his physical description made him feel more like a 2D character.

I’m still not over the “washboard abs” and I have one more thing to say about it. Lucifer is currently working full-time at a law firm with a heavy caseload, sometimes working late into the night, he’s studying for his BAR exam (he’s not officially a lawyer yet), and he’s making time for a dating life. So when does he work out? “Washboard abs” are not a permanent feature, they need to be maintained! The whole set-up of him as some god felt more like the author writing up her fantasy than a realistic character.

Aside from that, the story was very enjoyable. At some points it felt like it could benefit from another run-through of editing, but I’m not sure if this is just the preliminary release. There’s definitely an issue with the conclusion though. I don’t know if the author decided to change the ending or what, but there is a scene that, based on what happens later (I don’t way to give any spoilers here), should not actually exist. So possibly be prepared for confusion as you near the end of the book.

(If you do find something weird at the end, let me know! I want to make sure I’m reading this right)

In other news, some musical reviews are hitting the blog next week! I’m really looking forward to it and excited to share this with you! Stay tuned!

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review, as part of Masquerade Tours

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

