Underwater Restorations by Jeffrey Ballard

Under Rest image         smaller starsmaller starsmaller star

A quick read for your Sunday! This futuristic short story follows Isa and her crew of thieves as they plunder sunken homes for artwork to sell on the black market. It’s a very unique plot and the characters are fun to get to know, though I had a little trouble reading Isa as a woman. I wished it could’ve been longer! I’d love to see more of the friendship between Puo and Isa at play.

While I understand short stories often have to jump right in without setting up the plot, the author’s cold-open left me completely in the dark. I really needed some background to understand what was going on. Some of this may have been for intrigue and suspense but I was just confused so these techniques didn’t work for me. I did remedy that by re-reading the beginning so all was not lost, but a little more detail would’ve been appreciated!

Now that I do know what’s going on, I hope there are more tales from the sea because it feels like the author is just getting started with this story. I’m excited to see where this will go!

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

Leave a Reply

